boi

Nov 1, 2017
With the success of the Soulsborne games, From Software looks like they have cemented themselves in the games industry. I started playing From Software games with Dark Souls Remastered (so very recently) but after completing the game, I immediately bought Dark Souls III, Bloodborne, Dark Souls 2 and I have yet to play Demon's Souls. And gosh, what rollercoaster ride it has been. It reignited a passion for games in me I did not had before.

It also made me think about the developer. What was From Software before the Soulsborne games? Were they as respected for the Armored Core games as they were for Dark Souls/Bloodborne (only by a smaller audience)? Was the level of quality always that high? Was Demon's Souls an "accident" that now defines the company? Its fucking crazy because before I played Dark Souls I thought of FromSoft as B-rank developer, making niche games with varying quality. Now they are my favorite developer.

wrowa

Oct 25, 2017
Most people didn't know they were a thing. Others considered them as somewhat of a cult studio that developed interesting but most of the time rather flawed games.

TheStebe

Avenger
Oct 25, 2017
London
From Software was always well respected before the souls games in my view!

Armoured Core is simply an amazing franchise and Metal Wolf Chaos was just insane.

Personally i still love the Otogi games that were on the original Xbox. Had such a great combat system

Azoor

Oct 25, 2017
Kuwait
Xbox players knew them for this little gem.

c08517626f0ee51f21bc7e2907b85040.jpg

Oliver James

Avenger
Oct 25, 2017
They were pretty niche. I already loved Echo Night and Otogi from them, also, King's Field and Armored Core have their cult following.

Jimnymebob

Oct 26, 2017
They were always a very niche Japanese developer that didn't really have any great games, but they had series with loyal fans.

WyLD iNk

Oct 27, 2017
Here, duh.