Dec 2, 2017
I'm in my second year of university in London, and my university emailed us today confirming that the entire year will be 95% online learning, not on campus at all. I feel extremely unhappy with this. I know Covid safety concerns are serious and should be taken seriously. But paying 9 thousand pounds a year to sit at home and do essays, missing out on any kind of social interactions or opportunities, feels like a fucking rip off, frankly. I'm extremely pissed off about it. Even though I acknowledge I am probably unreasonable.

Fulminator

Oct 25, 2017
I don't think it's unreasonable at all to want/expect a cheaper tuition when you clearly don't have the same benefits/resources of on campus learning.

Static

Avenger
Oct 25, 2017
You got screwed but so did everyone else. Fingers crossed that your instruction is at least comparable to the in-class quality you would've received on campus, because some people's teaching has felt really phoned in with online learning. Pardon the pun.

Dervius

Oct 28, 2017
UK
I'm in my second year of university in London, and my university emailed us today confirming that the entire year will be 95% online learning, not on campus at all. I feel extremely unhappy with this. I know Covid safety concerns are serious and should be taken seriously. But paying 9 thousand pounds a year to sit at home and do essays, missing out on any kind of social interactions or opportunities, feels like a fucking rip off, frankly. I'm extremely pissed off about it. Even though I acknowledge I am probably unreasonable.

Not unreasonable to be annoyed at all.

Not sure what else you could do other than defer or take a gap year.

Oct 27, 2017
Not unreasonable to be annoyed you're still paying full tuition.

That said, come on over to the US, where we'll charge you four times as much, invite you on campus for a week and then send you home as a perfectly engineered virus bomb

gully state

Oct 27, 2017